Dave was extremely professional but more importantly I was treated as a person not a case. He always returned calls and emails in a very timely manner. I would definitely recommend Dave to help with legal needs! -Jennifer S.

As someone who never had a lawyer, David made everything as simple as possible. He is very easy to communicate with and provides all the answers and support you will ever need. If I ever need a lawyer again, David will be my first choice to contact. -Andrew

I was falsely accused of something and had an order filed against me. Ben represented me during court and successfully had the order dismissed. He also went above and beyond to make sure it would not show up on my record. – Brittany.

Home » Blog » What distinguishes a simple assault from an aggravated assault in Tennessee?

What distinguishes a simple assault from an aggravated assault in Tennessee?

Share

The Difference Between Assault and Aggravated Assault

The biggest difference between simple assault and aggravated assault is that simple assault and domestic assault (when a domestic relationship is involved) are both treated as misdemeanors and are punishable by 11 months and 29 days, while aggravated assault is a felony that carries a sentence of up to 6 years.

Whether one is convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor will generally depend on whether a deadly weapon is involved and or the degree of the injury to the victim.

What is a Simple Assault?

An assault that occurs when a person:

    1. Injures someone
    2. Causes someone to fear imminent bodily injury
    3. Causes contact that would be considered extremely offensive or provocative. T.C.A. § 39-13- 101.

    What is Aggravated Assault?

    An Aggravated Assault is a regular assault that has one or more of the following additional factors:

    1. Serious bodily injury
    2. Death
    3. A deadly weapon
    4. Strangulation. T.C.A. § 39-13- 102.

    Aggravated Assault could be seriously injuring someone, or using a firearm to put them in fear of being shot (even if you haven’t actually pulled the trigger).

    What is serious bodily injury?

    There is a grey area in the law as to what exactly constitutes “serious bodily injury.” For example, one case held that a broken nose is not enough to rise to “serious” injury. State v. Sims, 909 S.W.2d 46, 49 (Tenn. Crim. App. 1995).

    However, in State v. Demond Lamont Adkins, the court found that evidence of permanent impairment in the victim’s knee and back was sufficient. 2008 WL 5100851 (Tenn. Crim. App. Dec. 4, 2008).

    What is Domestic Assault?

    Domestic Assault is a special version of Simple Assault, which has the added component that the defendant and victim are in a “domestic relationship.”

    Domestic Assault is still a misdemeanor, but has the extra consequence of restricting firearm rights upon conviction (as if it was a felony).

    Domestic Assault cases are also often handled differently in court. There is technically no difference when an Aggravated Assault involves a domestic relationship, but again the case will often be handled differently for courts that have a separate domestic violence court.

    Answers to Common Questions about Assault

    Take a look at our FAQ page for answers to other frequently asked criminal law questions.

    • Is Aggravated Assault a Felony? Yes
    • Is Assault a Felony? No
    • Is simple assault and assault the same thing? Yes
    • What is the difference between domestic and aggravated assault? Domestic assault is technically a misdemeanor version of simple assault when there is a domestic relationship between the parties. When the parties in an aggravated assault have a domestic relationship, it is still an aggravated assault.
    • What is Reckless Aggravated Assault? Reckless aggravated assault is when a person recklessly commits and assault that causes serious bodily injury or that involves a deadly weapon. This is a Class D felony, whereas otherwise an Aggravated Assault is a Class C felony.
    • Is Aggravated Domestic Assault a felony in TN? Yes
    • What is the jail time for Aggravated Assault? 3-6 years
    • What is the sentence for aggravated assault in Tennessee? 3-6 years

    If you have been arrested on assault charges (domestic, simple, or aggravated) in Middle Tennessee, it’s important to speak to a criminal defense attorney immediately. Contact the law firm of Raybin & Weissman for a free consultation today.

    Additional Criminal Defense Resources

    What You Need to Know When Charged With Domestic Violence

    Nashville Assault Defense Attorneys

    Nashville Criminal Defense Attorneys