Understanding Your Right Penalties For Public Intoxication
Simply being drunk or intoxicated in public isn’t a crime in Tennessee, as long as you do not act like it. However, before drinking any kind of alcohol drink, you should know that the police could still pick you up for public intoxication, although they may offer you treatment instead of jail time.
The police may charge you with public intoxication if you appear to be drunk or on drugs to the degree that you might:
- Endanger yourself
- Endanger other people or property around or near you
- Unreasonably annoy people around or near you
What Are The Penalties for Public Intoxication in Tennessee?
In Tennessee, public intoxication is considered a misdemeanor. The penalties for a charge of public intoxication, whether you are in Davidson County, Williamson County, Sumner County, Rutherford County, Murray County, or another county, will significantly vary based on the specific facts of your case.
In general, you may face jail time of up to 30 days, a fine not exceeding $50, or both. You may also be taken into police custody and offered treatment without an arrest record, depending on which county you’re in.
Talk to a Skilled Tennessee Criminal Defense Lawyer Today
A public intoxication conviction can go on your record and be searchable by insurance companies and prospective employers, among others.
That is why you should consult with a Tennessee criminal defense lawyer who understands the laws in your specific area to ensure that your rights are protected and explore the best options available to you. Contact Raybin & Weissman and schedule your free consultation with our Tennessee criminal defense lawyer by calling 615-256-6666 or reaching us online.