Charges for Disorderly Conduct Arrest in TN
Tennessee has disorderly conduct laws in place to ensure everyone’s peace and safety. When a person engages in any conduct that might lead to a disturbance or cause some kind of non-peaceful incident, the law considers this disorderly conduct, which is also known as a breach of peace. However, this is a very broad law that may be easily challengeable in court. Here’s what you need to know about if you have been arrested for disorderly conduct in TN.
What Exactly is Disorderly Conduct in TN?
Disorderly conduct is a catch-all term used for describing many different actions or behaviors that the law considers annoying or obnoxious, as such actions result in disturbance to people. While most disorderly conduct arrests result from someone being intoxicated in public, intoxication isn’t necessarily an element of disorderly conduct. Common examples of disorderly conduct that can lead to arrests include:
- Being intoxicated and loud in public
- Begging in public
- Not following noise ordinances
- Disrupting a religious ceremony
- Disturbing the peace
- Loitering in certain places, such as in front of stores or on street corners
- Behaving in a generally disruptive manner
- Provoking other people in an intimidating or threatening manner
It’s vital to note that the authorities may charge someone with disorderly conduct when their actions don’t fit the elements or requirements of another crime. Likewise, some actions that can be considered disorderly conduct may result in a more serious criminal charge. For instance, arguing or going into a screaming match with another person may be considered disorderly conduct in another county but may lead to a charge of assault in another county, depending on the specific circumstances and local rules.
What Are The Penalties for Disorderly Conduct in TN?
Depending on the specific nature and severity of your conduct and local rules, the police may give you a warning or a ticket or arrest you for disorderly conduct. In Tennessee, disorderly conduct is usually a Class C misdemeanor. A Class C misdemeanor carries a fine of up to $50 and jail time of up to 30 days in jail.
However, keep in mind that a disorderly conduct incident occurring at funerals is considered a Class B misdemeanor in Tennessee. Disorderly conduct at a funeral involves disrupting a funeral, service, viewing, procession, or burial by protesting, picking, or making offensive gestures or displays within 500 feet of any activity related to a funeral. A Class B misdemeanor carries a fine not exceeding $500 and jail time of up to six months.
Consult with a Top Criminal Defense Lawyer in TN
You may think that being arrested for disorderly conduct is a minor charge. However, it can have far-reaching consequences on your life. A seemingly minor indiscretion can turn into a criminal conviction if you don’t know what you are doing. If you have been arrested or charged with disorderly conduct or another crime in Tennessee, don’t try to resolve the case on your own without discussing your situation with an experienced criminal defense lawyer in TN.